Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the Exercise Science & Sport Studies Guide. This guide will introduce you to resources that may help you with your assignments and projects. If you need assistance, please visit the Help tab.
Exercise Science Databases
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
-
Health Sciences Database Collection This link opens in a new window This link combines four health databases into a single EBSCO search: 1) CINAHL Complete, 2) Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, 3) MEDLINE Complete, and 4) SPORTDiscus with Full-Text.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics, with access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more, dating back to 1857 with full-text back to 1865. MEDLINE Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals.
-
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window A user-friendly multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support complete with a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
-
SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the index - with no embargo
Search the Library Catalog
-
Library CatalogSearch the PennWest Libraries' online catalog to find physical items and eBooks.
Other Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch combines most of the library's resources into a single database. Rather than search databases separately, you can do just "one search." OneSearch includes articles, ebooks and books, and more.
-
Agricola This link opens in a new window Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations.
-
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. OpenDissertations is updated regularly and provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present.
Websites
-
National Library of Medicine A major resource for a wide range of medical information. From the National Institute of Health.
-
Pennsylvania Department of Health The official source for health information within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.