Example Titles for Getting Your Collection Ready for the Centennial Anniversaries of the 19th Amendment
Blight, D. W. (2018). Frederick Douglass: Prophet of freedom. New York, NY: Simon & Schuster.
Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom is an extensive biography of the renowned figure.
Buhle, P. (Ed.), & Buhle, M. J. (Ed.). (2005). The concise history of woman suffrage: Selections from history of woman suffrage, by Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Matilda Joslyn Gage, and the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press.
This collection of primary source materials is selected from the comprehensive six-volume History of Woman Suffrage. The editors selected 82 of the documents including works by Angelina Grimké, Lucy Stone, Carrie Chapman Catt, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Anna Howard Shaw, Jane Addams, Sojourner Truth, Victoria Woodhull, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Matilda Joslyn Gage, and Ida Husted Harper. This volume is listed by the Illinois Press for $28 and may be useful for libraries interested in single print volume of important original documents.
Burns, K. (Producer), Barnes, P. (Producer), Ward, G. C. (Writer), & Kellerman S. (Narrator). (1999). Not for ourselves alone: The story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony [Visual Material]. Alexandria, VA: PBS Home Video.
Not for Ourselves Alone is a two-part documentary about the suffrage movement highlighting the work and friendship of Stanton and Anthony. This video is one of few available videos on the subject.
Clift, E. (2003). Founding sisters and the Nineteenth Amendment. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.
Founding Sisters is an easy to read account of the suffrage movement starting with the Seneca Falls Woman’s Rights Convention of 1848 to ratification. Included is discussion of racial issues around suffrage.
Cole, A., Alexander, K., Hart, L. & Huguley, P. (2016). Daughters of a Nation: A Black suffragette historical romance anthology. New York, NY: Maroon Ash.
A unique entry being a fiction anthology of four romance stories featuring black suffragettes.
Cooney, R. (2005). Winning the vote: The triumph of the American woman suffrage movement. Santa Cruz, CA: American Graphic.
The format of this book is a large size hardcover, glossy book including many photographs and images from the suffrage movement.
Eckert, R. M. (2013). How the vote was won: The story of woman suffrage and beyond. Minneapolis, MN: Mill City.
Eckert’s book is a short easy to read overview of suffrage. It is available in an inexpensive paperback edition. Eckert starts with a historical overview of women’s rights in the U.S. prior to the suffrage movement and then covers the major events including ratification.
Edwards, K. (2011). The lake of dreams. New York, NY: Penguin Books.
This is a novel by the author of The Memory Keeper's Daughter with a plot line that involves mysteries surrounding the protagonist’s great-grandfather's suffragette sister.
Flexner, E. (1996). Century of struggle: The woman's rights movement in the United States (3rd ed.). Cambridge, MA.: Belknap.
Century of Struggle is a well-regarded and often cited text on the women’s franchise movement. The book covers the history of women rights in early America including education, employment, laws, and employment through ratification.
Goodier, S. (2013). No votes for women: The New York state anti-suffrage movement. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press.
This book is about women who opposed voting rights for women.
Keyssar, A. (2009). The right to vote: The contested history of democracy in the United States (Revised ed.). New York, NY: Basic Books.
Keyssar details the history of suffrage in the United States from the revolution through 2008. The text includes a section on women’s suffrage. The Right to Vote was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and is recommended to situate women’s suffrage in the overall context of the right to vote.
Kidd, S. M. (2014). The invention of wings. New York, NY: Viking.
This novel, by Sue Monk Kidd, author of The Secret Life of Bees, is an Oprah Book Club selection. It is an historical novel based on the life of Sarah Grimke who, along with her sister Angelina, were abolitionists and pioneers for women's rights.
Painter, N. I. (1996). Sojourner Truth: A life, a symbol. New York, NY: W. W. Norton.
This is a biography of Sojourner Truth who was an ex-slave, abolitionist, and member of the women’s rights movement.
Pollak, R. (Director), & Sarandon, S. (Actor). (2005). One woman, one vote [Visual Material]. United States: PBS Home Video.
This recording explores the women’s suffrage movement. It includes historical footage and interviews with historians giving both current and historical perspectives.
Ruth, J. E. (2006). Women of the suffrage movement. San Francisco, CA: Pomegranate.
This work is a slight volume notable for containing many pictures from the Library of Congress collection. It provides an overview for the general reader highlighting images.
Stanton, E. C. (2015). Eighty years and more: Reminiscences 1815-1897 [reprint]. Charleston, SC: Printed by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform.
This is a reprint of an autobiography by Elizabeth Cady Stanton, originally printed in 1898. The referenced copy is available on Amazon.com.
Terborg-Penn, R. (1998). African American women in the struggle for the vote, 1850-1920. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press.
This book is the classic academic text on African American women and their involvement in the women’s suffrage movement.
Von Garnier, K. (Director), & Swank, H. (Actor). (2004). Iron Jawed Angels [Visual Material]. New York, NY: HBO Video.
The made for TV movie depicts Alice Paul and Lucy Burns, leaders in the suffragist movement. The film is faulted for some dramatic elements though is considered to contain much historical accuracy.
Wagner, S. R. (2019). The women's suffrage movement. New York, NY: Penguin Classics.
One of many books being published in time for the centennial. The book description states that the focus is on diversity, incorporating race, class, and gender, and illuminating minority voices.
WYNC Studios. (2018, September 17). 27: The Most Perfect Album | Dolly Parton | 19th Amendment. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASx-s0fPzK4&index=27&list=PLkvdLHXNvdANpgqnkTIKLYt-Rp7ihOHd8
A music video of Dolly Parton’s song about the 19th Amendment from the album, 27:The Most Perfect Album, which contains songs about all of the Constitutional Amendments produced by New York Public Radio.